Top 15 music videos (Part II)

This arrives much later than I planned. Baby and a business trip have kept me busy and *gasp* away from m laptop. Without further ado, here are my picks for Nos. 5-10 of the Best Music Videos of All Time, in reverse order of course.

10. “Blue Orchid”, The White Stripes. One of my favorite bands, and one f’ed up video. Jack White twirls a cane while wearing some period costume. Meg White keeps the beat by banging on (and breaking) dishes. Some weird woman in a white dress and uncomfortable-looking footwear tries not to break her ankles walking around a decrepit house before snakes crawl all over her and a white horse rears up. Wait, what?

9. “Smells Like Teen Spirit”, Nirvana. Nothing captures teen angst for me like Nirvana, and no music video captures teen angst for me better than “Smells Like Teen Spirit”. This video also seems to capture Kurt Cobain at his healthiest, before the dark spiral that led to his suicide. When I see this video, I wonder about whether someone could have helped him.

8. “The Perfect Drug”, Nine Inch Nails. Catchy song, and one of Trent Reznor’s best videos. The costumes are great, the guitarists’ jerky movements are weird but somehow perfect (just like NIN’s music in the ’90s) and the boy standing next to Reznor freaks me the f- out. This was the first time I saw Reznor with facial hair; it fits him and the video perfectly.

7. “Karma Police”, Radiohead. People who know me well know that I consider Radiohead the Best. Band. Ever. And this video is my favorite of their many (all great) videos. It perfectly captures the desperation, the loneliness, the sadness, the inevitability of disaster. It also freaks me out.

6. “Sabotage”, Beastie Boys. I love the Beasties, and this is their best video by far. Keystone Cops, Beastie Boys-style. It’s fun, it’s funny, it’s No. 6.

Come back Saturday for my Top Five music videos of all time. You can also expect updates about Alex sometime this weekend, so stay tuned.

~ by amarvin on Friday, August 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
