This week’s Alex update

So Alex seems to be teething again. He has been incredibly fussy the past couple days — doesn’t like to be set down, freaking out about little things (like when he can’t figure out how to crawl), that kind of stuff. This is after three weeks of teething late May through early June that didn’t end with the arrival of a tooth. This time, there better be a tooth. Just one, that’s all I ask. Please?

Other Alex news: Alex is now taking steps as long as we hold his hands. That’s new as of Monday. Wow. We know that the days of keeping him in one place will soon be over. He also is getting really good at pulling himself up. Unfortunately, that’s all he wants to do. He’s not really interested in doing much else, and Daddy already misses our ticklefests of just a month or two ago.

A big thanks to everyone’s motivational words regarding my Getting in Shape series of posts. One thing I forgot to mention is that I wear a backpack on my ride. In it, I carry my laptop (5+ pounds), my work clothes, a water bottle and odds and ins. In all, it’s about 10 pounds of crap on my back. That counts for something, right?

In response to some of Tuesday’s comments:

• Jim: I drink lots of water. My breaks are mainly so I can guzzle water. I also had to start bringing shorts with me because wearing pants while bicycling in 60- or 70-degree weather sucks. I’m not logging what I eat … yet. I have considered it, but for now I’m benefiting from the fact that with Stefanie working part-time I’m too poor to go out to eat or take coffee breaks. Eating leftovers, most of which are incredibly healthy, with smaller portions of junk food treats (such as “individual” bags of chips) and healthy snacks (CSA sugar snap peas FTW!) all seem to be working OK so far. That might change when I plateau, but I have at least 20 or 30 pounds to lose before I have to worry about that. I put road tires on my mountain bike last summer after I bought it. They have been really nice. I regret buying a bike with front shocks though — I lose a lot of forward momentum when I hit bumps.

• Ann: I haven’t measured my waist in these first three weeks, but I can tell you that my pants seem to fit better. I’m eager to measure my waist after this week (and at least once a month after that).

• Melissa: I definitely recommend bikes, especially since you, Adam and Oscar live so close to downtown. After Andrew graduates in three years, I hope that we will move downtown and replace one of our cars with bikes all around. Riding with traffic is difficult in Salem because drivers at best don’t pay attention to bicyclists and at worse honk and yell at you while they go around you. It’s lame, but it’s not bad as long as there are bike lanes. That said, about half my ride (the middle half for those counting at home) is bike lane-free. That is seriously lame, Salem. Suck it up and put in bike lanes. /rant

~ by amarvin on Tuesday, June 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
