Getting in Shape: Week 3

So I rode my bike to work today, as is slowly becoming tradition. Last week, I rode Monday and Friday and made it to weight training Tuesday. This week I hope to add an additional day of biking or a second day of weight training.

I thought I should share more details about my ride. It’s almost entirely downhill on the way to work, as I have mentioned before, but to be specific: The ride is a descent of about 300 to 400 feet, and according to Google Maps it is 5.3 miles each way rather than the 4.5 miles I had guesstimated in earlier posts. Bonus! But a downhill ride to wokr means an uphill climb on the way home. It’s a killer.

But I’m already seeing progress. When I started just three weeks ago, I had to stop three times on the way home for water breaks and to rest. Last week, I still stopped three times (all stops at the top of tought climbs), but today I only stopped twice. And my time is dropping fairly quickly, too. Three weeks ago, it took me 45 minutes to ride home. On Friday, I got that down to 40 minutes, and today I got it to 36 minutes.

If I can eliminate another rest break (or better yet, both of them) and keep building strength I should be able to get the ride home down to 30 minutes. That is the same amount of time that it takes me to get home on the bus. Cool. The ride to work is much faster, of course: 20 minutes is my average (lots of morning traffic to contend with), but in the past I have made it in less than 15 minutes. New goals all around, I say.

One thing I don’t have — and probably should buy — is a scale to track my weight loss. I don’t feel any thinner, that’s for sure, but I have noticed that I can suck in my gut a little easier. That’s a good sign, but seeing my weight drop would be a good motivator. Maybe I can pick up a used scale at a garage sale since we are trying to save money and all.

~ by amarvin on Monday, June 23, 2008.

3 Responses to “Getting in Shape: Week 3”

  1. Sounds like you are doing really great Aaron. Good for you. You may not be losing pounds but you are probably losing inches.
    Keep up the good work.

  2. Good for you! I was wondering how far you were riding to and from work. Adam and I are thinking about getting bikes, too. Did you review the rules of the road before heading out? I’m super-scared to join the traffic on a bike. I’ve heard folks say that the first step is that you just have to know what you’re doing and be really confident. Well, you’re an inspiration.

  3. Few of thoughts:

    – For me, the most important thing was logging what I ate. It just makes you think about everything you put in your mouth. I used fitday.com, it worked pretty well.

    – Do you have road tires on your bike? They really help.

    – Drink lots of water while your on the bike.

    Good luck man! Maybe I will come join you for one of your rides home.

Leave a Reply

 
