Getting in Shape: Week 2

I’m in the middle of my second week of getting back in shape. Rode my bike to work Monday — it still took me 20 minutes to get there (all downhill) and 40 minutes to get home (all uphill), but the weather was nice and it was a bit easier. Went to my weight training class tonight, which feels good now and will really hurt Thursday. I can’t ride tomorrow or Thursday, but I hope I can ride to work Friday and maybe hit the weight training class again Thursday. Wish me luck.

Saw this video during lunch today. Sales vs. IT in what may be the most epic battle I have ever witnessed. I want to work at this company.

~ by amarvin on Tuesday, June 17, 2008.

2 Responses to “Getting in Shape: Week 2”

  1. I have been getting in shape too. My method involves only diet. I am on Atkins diet. I have gone from 235 to 222. It is funny how 222 feels so much better on the way down, then on the way up. I have been toying with the idea of adding some form of additional exercise. A YMCA is right across the street from work and they give us a big discount because they use our parking lot for their employees.

    I notice your “what I am listening to: list. Jimi…doesn’t get any better. “All along the watchtower” has to be my all time favorite.

  2. That’s excellent news, Bill. I’m really trying to lose the weight. I started last week at 245, and I hope to make 200 by Christmas. I haven’t been 200 pounds since 2000, when I moved to Oregon. Wow.

    I definitely recommend weight training. It really helped me lose weight last summer before Alex was born. I combined it with biking, same as now, and lost 20 pounds in three months. Now if only I had been able to continue after Alex was born. But we were just too busy, and I was too tired.

    Good luck with your diet. I’m rooting for you!

    I love Jimi’s music. Finished the rest of that album while I was working on a Group Policy issue at work today.

Leave a Reply

 
