Good to see you, and come back soon

My mom was in town Wednesday evening until Sunday morning, and we had a blast. Mostly she came to see Alex, whom she played with every spare moment, and Andrew, who was too busy doing his own thing to spend much time with anyone.

She did, however, get to see Andrew’s high school jazz ensemble play the Elsinore Theatre with amazing trumpet player Wayne Bergeron. They were incredible. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see much of the show because Alex wanted to babble at the performers. We spent most of the time in the lobby playing.

We had planned to visit the coast Saturday, but I came down with the cold that had plagued Andrew, Alex and Stefanie a week ago and have spent the past two days in bed or on the couch. Not the way I really wanted to spend my mom’s last few days in Oregon, but what can you do? Anyway, my mom, Stefanie and her sister Teresa went shopping Saturday instead. They had a blast; it was great to see Stefanie and my mom bond. They really hadn’t had much time alone together before this trip, so I’m glad they were able to take some time to better get to know each other.

On a side note, who turned up the heat? It was in the mid- to upper-90s Thursday, Friday and Saturday in Salem. It sucked. We don’t have air conditioning, and we weren’t prepared for Alex needing to nap in his room during the miserably hot afternoons. Poor guy has a heat rash on his back. It cooled off today — high predicted to be 76 degrees — just in time for my mom to leave. I blame her for bringing the hot weather from Kansas, where it has been in the 60s and 70s since she left. Heh.

Anyway, it was great to spend some time with my mom. She lives far enough away that I usually see her maybe once every year. Now I need to get better so we can prepare for my dad’s and grandmother’s arrival in two weeks. It will be the first time that either of them have met Alex, and I can’t wait.

P.S. I posted some photos on Picasa from Alex’s baby swim class Thursday. My mom and I watched while Stefanie and Alex swam. He loves the water.

 

~ by amarvin on Sunday, May 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
