Ode to The Muppets

I love The Muppet Show. When I was a kid, I remember getting up really early to watch the Jim Henson masterpiece (yes, I said “masterpiece”) with my dad. I’m still obsessed with the show. I have the first two seasons of the show on DVD, and I’m itching to get the third season when it releases next week.

Several years ago when I used to manage the newsroom laptops as an IT geek at the local newspaper in Salem, I even named the laptops for Muppet characters. There was Miss Piggy, Rizzo (the Rat), Kermit, Waldorf and Statler, Fozzie and Gonzo. Unfortunately, I ran out of laptops so I couldn’t name any after some of my other (less known) favorite characters: Sam the Eagle, the Swedish Chef, Camilla the Chicken, Crazy Harry and The Newsman. Too bad.

To share my obsession with you, here is one of my favorite sketches from Season 1 of The Muppet Show:

~ by amarvin on Tuesday, May 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “Ode to The Muppets”

  1. That’s one of my favorites, too. 🙂 Did you ever hear the CAKE recording of that tune. Good stuff…

  2. I haven’t heard the CAKE version. Just searched for it on YouTube, and no luck. I’ll keep hunting. Thanks, Jen!

Leave a Reply

 
