Eddie Izzard: Fantabulous

I’ve been a fan of Eddie Izzard’s bizarre-yet-extremely-intelligent comedy since I saw his award-winning show Dress to Kill on cable in 2000. I picked up the DVD the same day it went on sale in 2002. When Stefanie came home that day, she was confused because there I was cracking up at a British man wearing a dress and makeup. I convinced her to give it a shot, and after the show ended she had me start it over so she could see the parts she missed. I loves her, I tells ya.

Years later, she and Andrew (also a big fan) gave me the entire Eddie Izzard stand-up collection on DVD for Christmas. We have watched Dress to Kill so much — and loaned it out to so many people — that we are going to have to replace it for a third time. The disc just keeps wearing out, and I always forget to rip a backup copy before it does. In 2005, we even got to see him live in Portland on his Sexie tour. It was the best live show I have ever seen. My face was actually sore the next day from laughing so hard. Imagine my excitement when Stefanie scored us tickets for his new tour, Stripped, which will stop in Portland for two days in July. So far, at least six or seven friends also have tickets. I can’t wait.

And now Eddie Izzard is the star and producer of a great series on FX called The Riches, he just finished filming a movie with Tom Cruise and lending his excellent voice to a character in the second Chronicles of Narnia movie. Oh, and he’s interested in European politics (thanks for sharing this, Spike).He also has an equally bizarre (but fun) Web site. Busy guy.

In honor of my favorite comedian, here are two of my favorite bits from Dress to Kill, still his best show:

~ by amarvin on Monday, April 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
