Completely Random Top Five List: TV Shows

At the volunteer appreciation night this week for Reel Film Snobs, a local TV show that I run cameras for sometimes, one of the hosts and I were talking about the new season of Battlestar Galactica and how great the previous two seasons were. That got me thinking about other favorite TV shows, and that led to this Random Top Five List of my favorite TV shows from the past five years:

5.  Heroes. Season One was great, just the thing to pull me back to watching primetime televison. Season Two has been panned by a lot of fans and critics, but I loved it, too. Too bad it was cut short by the writer’s strike. Season Three is due in September, and I can’t wait to see Hero and the rest back on the small screen.

4. Dexter. This Showtime series, stars Michael C. Hall as a forensic scientist with the Miami Police Department who moonlights as a serial killer who prays only on violent criminals. The main character is both creepy and charismatic, a difficult combination to pull off in a movie, let alone a TV series. It’s a disturbing show, as you would expect, but it’s compelling to watch Dexter as he tries to figure out who he is and why he does what he does. The narration is superb, and the characters are excellent.

3. Doctor Who (2005-). I worshiped this show when I was a kid and science fiction/fantasy was all I wanted to watch or read. But when I heard that the BBC was releasing an updated version, I was skeptical. I shouldn’t have been. A great show with memorable characters, good special effects (although it still keeps up some of the camp from the earlier versions, which I like) and great stories. The first season starred Christopher Eccleston as The Doctor, and David Tennant took over in Season Two. I’m not as big a fan of Tennant or the companions after Billie Piper, but Season Four just started and I can’t wait to see it. Now if only I had cable and could watch the show.

2. Arrested Development. This is the smartest show I’ve ever seen. Also the funniest. There are so many funny bits that you have to watch each episode multiple times to catch them all. The cast is incredible, the writing spectacular. I wish I would have discovered this show when it was still broadcast. Maybe, just maybe, if people like me had given it a shot the show would have lasted more than three seasons. Rumor has it that there is a movie in the works. Please, oh please, let it be true.

1. Battlestar Galactica. This was an easy top choice. This epic is so much more than science fiction. It easily is the best drama on television. The special effects are great. The characters are incredible. The story is amazing, and although the writers like cliffhangers they don’t beat watchers to death with them (I’m looking at you, Lost). If you haven’t seen this show, do it. Do it now.

I know there are plenty of great shows — The Office, My Name is Earl, The Riches, The Wire, House, Eureka, The Shield, Lost and many more — that didn’t make my list, but I could only pick five and I don’t watch a lot of TV. Think I missed a great one though? Tell me about your favorites in the comments.

~ by amarvin on Friday, April 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
