I still kinda-sorta heart Portishead

You need to understand how much I worshipped Portishead in college. Beth Gibbons’ sultry voice and the quiet-yet-catchy background noise enthralled me. How much, you ask? So much so that I wanted to have her babies. Dummy was that damn good.

But her new album, Third, is coming out this month, and I’m not sure I like the first single, “Machine Gun”. It’s catchy, but I don’t know that catchy is enough for me anymore. I guess I’ve outgrown my college crush. Sad.

Compare for yourself. Here is her new video:

And here is a live performance of her most famous song, “Sour Times”:

~ by amarvin on Friday, April 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
