Sleep is good

Alex has started regressing on his sleep lately. He usually goes to sleep easily at 7:30 p.m. and doesn’t wake up until between 3 and 5 a.m., when I bring him to Stefanie for his breakfast. Then he may or may not sleep again, depending on what time he finishes. But lately he has been waking up in the middle of the night, and since it’s my responsibility to handle him before 3 a.m., I have to wait at least 20 minutes before I can go in, try to calm him and give him his binky. That’s 20 minutes of listening to him cry, getting louder and sadder with each minute, between 1 and 3 a.m. I’m exhausted, and my stress levels (already high with a teen-ager in the house and Stefanie’s soon-to-arrive job change) have skyrocketed.

So today I skipped a family event and separate friends event in Portland with the family to sleep in. Slept until noon for the first time since Alex was born. Still, with him waking up again at 2:30 a.m. and not really sleeping well after that, I only nabbed about seven hours of sleep. Still, it felt great.

Now I’m watching the NCAA tournament (go Jayhawks!), and tonight I’m headed to a friends house for pizza and a jam session. Should be the most relaxing day in a long, long time.

~ by amarvin on Saturday, March 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
